Cranberry Chicken

One thing that I think is really cool about cooking is that the options are unlimited. You can Google a recipe and find thousands of variations of something you have been cooking for years, or just combine 2-3 recipes and make it your own. My supervisor (who is a great cook!) at the County Extension office cooked this for me once, and after I went on and on about it, told me it was an old recipe. Surprise! Well it is new to me and it is very good and really easy.  I’ve made this with a pork tenderloin as well and it is also very good.

One thing that I found odd about Cranberry Chicken is that I really don’t care for any of the ingredients by themselves. I always pass on the cranberry sauce at holidays and Catalina dressing would be considered an emergency choice on a salad for me. But combined this is really good. The ingredient list is very simple.

  • 4 boneless/skinless chicken breasts (pounded)
  • 8 oz. Catalina Salad Dressing
  • 14 oz can Cranberry Sauce with whole berries
  • 1 packet dry onion soup mixCover the thawed boneless skinless chicken with plastic wrap and pound flat. I use my fist, but a mallet or coffee cup will work as well. Use plenty of plastic so the chicken won’t splatter all over the counter top. Try to be sure that each piece is pounded to a similar thickness  to keep cooking time consistent.Pour the remaining three ingredients in a bowl and mix together. I use Lipton mushroom onion instead of the traditional onion because the former does not contain MSG. It doesn’t bother me, but it makes my wife a nutcase! Place the chicken in the bowl with the mixed ingredients and allow to marinate overnight if possible. 2-3 hours will work, but the longer the better. When the chicken has marinated, place them in a 9X12 baking pan that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Cover with remaining sauce and cook at 350 degrees for approx. 90 minutes. I turn the breasts over once during cooking and spoon the sauce on top of them.I like to serve this over Basmatti Rice or Orzo, but any rice or noodle will do.I only cook for three people every night, but this recipe is really good as leftovers, so make plenty! Try it with pork loin sliced or pork tenderloin whole and you will love it!

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marsha Fort-Herren
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 17:50:45

    Sounds wonderful! We’ll definitely try this recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Goodreads

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

